Archive | Politician RSS feed for this section

Lalit Narayan Mishra

30 May

He was born in January 1923 at Basanpatti in Saharsa District of Bihar. He did his MA in economics from Patna University in 1948. He was married to Kameshwari Devi and had 4 sons, Vijay Kumar Mishra, Dr Vinay Kumar Mishra, Sanjay Mishra, Vikas Mishra and two daughters.

L N Mishra popularly called ‘Lalit Babu’ is very noted and respected name in the political society of India. Lalit Babu survived by a long family tree with many noted public figures as his descendent.

His eldest son Vijay Kumar Mishra is a well known politician in Bihar. Rahul Mishra, Assistant Vice President of Reliance General Insurance is his eldest grandson. Rishi Mishra, a business professional and aspiring politician and Sidharth Mishra, Head of business development, A4e India are his other grandsons.

Lalit Narayan Mishra was railway minister of India from 1973 to 1975 who died in 1975 in a bomb blast at Samastipur. He was brought into politics by the first Chief Minister of Bihar Bihar Kesari Sri Krishna Sinha when he was made parliamentary secretary at his insistence to the First Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru. The probe in his death still remains unresolved.


28 May

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (3 December 1884 – 28 February 1963) was born in a Kayastha Family in Zeradei village, in the Siwan district under Saran division of Bihar, on 3 December 1884. He was one of the architects of the Indian Republic, having drafted its first constitution and serving as the first president of independent India (26 January 1950-13 May 1962). During the independence movement, he left his law work and joined the Congress Party, playing a prominent role in the Indian Independence Movement. He served as the president of the Constituent Assembly that drafted the first constitution of the Republic, which lasted from 1948 to 1950. He also became the first Minister of Food and Agriculture in the year 1946 in the Interim national Government.